Congratulations to Graduates of Leadership Catawba!

On Thursday, March 1st, a Graduation Luncheon was held in honor of the thirty-nine business and community leaders who graduated from the Catawba County Chamber of Commerce's 43rd Class of Leadership Catawba.

43 years and running, Leadership Catawba pulls together people of diverse backgrounds and experiences who have demonstrated leadership potential throughout our community in order to further educate and equip them of the critical community issues that impact business and the viability of our local economy. This program challenges each participant to be an effective and influential leader, not only within their own organizations, but also within the greater community through awareness, personal commitment and involvement.

Over the 6-month duration, the participants are immersed in community issues and challenges that the Catawba Chamber positions themselves to directly address in the areas of Reinventing Community, Telling Our Story, Serving our Community, Building for Jobs, Workforce Connectivity, and Small Business and Entrepreneurship. In addition to the full-day sessions, each class member participated in a kick-off team building retreat, 16 hours of situational leadership training from a diverse array of community leaders and contracted consultants, a customized Leadership Study applicable to their personal and professional growth and all are challenged to organize and execute a group project that directly addresses a critical issue our county is facing in order to leave a sustainable impact.

The Catawba County Chamber of Commerce is pleased to recognize the following individuals who now have joined the ranks of over 1,000 esteemed business and community leaders over the past four decades who identify themselves as Leadership Catawba Alumni:

Danielle Bernard, Hickory Daily Record
Cameron Bixby, Catawba Insurance Agency, LLC
DeLane Bowman, Sipe's Orchard Home
Kevin Boyle Patrick Broos, Catawba Valley Medical Center
Drew Caldwell, Ophthalmology Jobs Online
Holli Cline, Frye Regional Medical Center
Charles Conley, Vanguard Furniture, Inc.
Nichole Dailey, First Citizens Bank
Kristin Darbee, Ashe Van Lines Moving & Storage
Leslie Ellis, Lenoir-Rhyne University
Paul Foster, Catawba County
Brennan Fox, Davidson, Holland, Whitesell & Co., PLLC, CPAs
Don Gordon, Adams Commercial Real Estate Services (ACRES)
Matthew Gordon, Corning Optical Communications, LLC
Molly Gross, Patrick, Harper, & Dixon, LLP
Tracy Hall, Catawba Valley Community College
John P. Helton, Catawba County Sheriff's Office
Elizabeth Hilliard, Western Piedmont Workforce Development Board
Kim Hudson, The Porter Agency
Zack King, Catawba County Public Health
Haynes King, Century Furniture
Brett Lehmons, Carolina West Wireless
Amber McGhinnis, Martin Starnes & Associates, CPAs. PA
Abigail Meachem, Catawba Science Center
Colin Meachem, Carolina Farm Credit
Adrienne Opdyke, Children's Advocacy and Protection Program
Michael Richey, SERVPRO of Catawba, Alexander, Burke and Caldwell Counties
Jenna Ross, Habitat for Humanity of Catawba Valley, Inc.
Mandy Roy, Graystone Eye
Erika Tiscareno Velasco, Catawba Valley Community College
Danielle Tumblin, Vanguard Furniture, Inc.
Patrick Underdown, HSM Solutions
Terri von Drehle, Hickory Metro Convention Center
Taylor Ward, Shurtape Technologies, LLC
Jennifer Whipple, Children's Resource Center
Dayne Willis, CommScope, Inc.
Robert Willis, Hickory Crawdads
Peggy Winters-Thompson, Apparel Authority

Congratulations, Leadership Catawba Class of 2018! For more information about the next cohort of Leadership Catawba, which will begin open enrollment in Spring 2018 and kick off in August 2018, please contact Kim Dahlsten, VP of Operations, at the Catawba County Chamber of Commerce at or 828-431-7230.

<< return to news