Hickory's Communications and Marketing Manager, Dana Kaminske, Elected President of State Communicators' Organization

Communities across North Carolina gathered at the annual North Carolina City & County Communicators' (NC3C) Conference in New Bern, April 18 through 20.

At the membership meeting on Friday, April 20, Dana Kaminske, the Communications and Marketing Manager for the City of Hickory, was elected to the President position on the NC3C board for 2018.

"Serving on the NC3C board as the President-Elect in 2017, Dana has done great work for the organization," said Catherine Lazorko, NC3C Past-President. "As the President-Elect, Dana oversaw the Excellence in Communications Awards program, assisted with rolling out a new automated award processing software, developed a partnership for judging awards with the Texas Association of Municipal Information Officers (TAMIO), and worked with the board and myself to begin the strategic vision for the upcoming years for NC3C. She is organized, forward-thinking, positive and committed to excellence in all aspects of what NC3C offers to its membership. It's been a pleasure to serve with her in this capacity."

"I am so honored, and humbled, to be elected as the President of NC3C. I have been a part of this organization for six and a half years, and I have served as the Secretary, Vice President, President-Elect, and now President," said Kaminske. Through my years of service, I have gained so much valuable knowledge, met amazing professional communicators from all over North Carolina, and I have been able to help implement new automated strategies to help the overall performance and efficiency of the organization. I am excited to lead NC3C and the board in 2018, and to be a part of continuing what the great leadership before me began."

The 2018NC3C board is as follows:

President - Dana Kaminske, City of Hickory
President-Elect - Rebecca Carter, Mecklenburg County
Vice President - Kristin Bunton, Cabarrus County
Secretary - Kevin Reopelle, City of Jacksonville
Treasurer - Joshua Harris, City of Lenoir
Past-President - Catherine Lazorko, Town of Chapel Hill
Executive Committee Members - Mark Andrews, Town of Holly Springs; Kristin Freeman, City of Raleigh; Amy McCauley, Catawba County; and Kim Sellers, Town of Mooresville

NC3C was formed in 2007 by 27 professional communicators from across North Carolina. Since that time, the organization has grown into an organization of more than 100 members, representing cities, counties, school systems, universities, transit authorities, utilities, and more. The North Carolina City & County Communicators is dedicated to the professional development and networking of local governmental communications professionals. A decade later, NC3C is one of the strongest government communicator organizations in the country.

NC3C's goals are to exchange information and ideas, encourage professional career development and training, and promote the necessity of the public information and communication functions in local government. Members are able to network with peers and gain support to assist with programs, participate in an annual awards competition, and attend conferences and professional development opportunities in various locations throughout the state.

<< return to news